Political Structure
The country's current constitution was approved in April 2010 and politics of Djibouti takes place in a framework of a presidential and pluralistic republic.

The president of the Republic is the head of state and also the head of the government; he is elected through direct universal suffrage for a 5 years term renewable.
He appoints the different ministers after the prime minister’s proposal and has the power to dismiss them.
The ministers are responsible for the implementation of the government policy.

Legislative power belongs to the national assembly which counts 65 members elected through universal suffrage on a list for a 5-year term. The president and the national assembly are reciprocally independent.

The president does not have the power to dissolve the national assembly and reciprocally the latter cannot threaten the responsibility granted to the president.The other institutions created in the constitution are the Constitutional Council, the Magistrates Council, the High Court of Justice and the Republic Mediator.

In Djibouti, there are 6 administrative regions.
The current President of the Republic of Djibouti is His Excellency, Mr. Ismael Omar Guelleh.